Last night The Liverpool Guild of Students awarded the achievements of the societies and individuals of the University in a fantastic evening of celebration.

Now in its seventh year, the awards recognise groups and individuals who have gone above and beyond to have a positive impact on the student experience. Liverpool Guild is the home to 190 societies with over 5,500 members from which 500 nominations flooded in in support of students, teachers and societies who work tirelessly to make University life better.

The night opened with a welcome from the Student Officers: Harry Anderson, James Coe, Emma Sims and Alex Ferguson who reviewed the highlights of the year in the newly refurbished Liverpool Guild building.

The awards soon got underway and the winners and nominees can be seen below:

Course Representative of the Year

Humanities and Social Sciences

Ieva Pangonyte

Michael Sonne – winner

Harry Moore

Health and Life Sciences

Anton Wong

Imogen Frame – winner

Eamonn O’Reilly

Science and Engineering

Clodagh Bluebell

Ruby Temple-Long – winner

Rhana Nicholson

*    *    *    *

Teacher of the Year Award

Humanities and Social Sciences

Nikolas Gjogkas

Dr. Amel Alghrani – winner

Dr. Mike Rowe

Health and Life Sciences

Dr. Laura Soulsby

Prof. Stuart Carter

Alison Reid – winner

Science and Engineering

Dr. Jonathan Green – winner

Dr. Gita Sedghi

Dr. Paul Williamson 

*    *    *    *

Halls’ Student Committee of the Year Award

World Culture Committee

Roscoe and Gladstone – winner

Dover Court

*    *    *    *

Activist of the Year Award

Jennifer Shaw – winner

Louise Donkor

Karim Hammad

*    *    *    *

Most Impact on the Community (Society or Project)

Help the Homeless Society – winner


Mental Health Society

Most Impact on the Community (Individual)

Kate Evans – winner

Greg Vicary

Nick Hobbs

*    *    *    *

Society of the Year

Celebrating Culture

Liverpool Chinese Students and Scholars Association – winner

University of Liverpool Polish Society

XJTLU Society

Celebrating Faith

Liverpool Sikh Society – winner

Christian Union

National Hindu Students’ Forum

Affecting Change

LULINKS – winner

Liverpool LGBT+

Help the Homeless Society

Student Media

Liverpool Student Media – winner


Performing Arts

Liverpool University Student Theatre – winner

Liverpool University Pole Society

Liverpool University Dance Society

Sharing Activity

Mature Students Society – winner

University of Liverpool Film Society



University of Liverpool Legal Society – winner



Society Individual of the Year

Jenna Davidson

Ella Johnson – winner

Jessica Cliff

Speaking to Deputy President James Coe after the event he said ‘I thought tonight was fantastic and the best Guild Awards so far.’ James, who is planning on returning to finish the third year of his English undergraduate degree after the end of his time as Deputy President summed up the evening as ‘emotional and exciting, tonight showed a real sense of community’